• Which two chemical scientists received Hevesy Medal Award 2015 - Susanta Lahiri and Kattesh V Katti

     Two scientists Susanta Lahiri and Kattesh V. Katti received Hevesy Medal Award 2015. They were honoured for their contributions in the fields of radio and nuclear chemistry.

    Mr. Susanta Lahiri is a Professor at Chemical Sciences Division, Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics in Kolkata and he won the award for his contributions to heavy ion induced radioisotope production, converter targets, green chemistry and tracer packet technique.  
    Mr. Kattesh V. Katti is a professor at the Cedntre for Radiological Research, University of Missouri in Columbia, the US. His research interests in the domain of Nano Science and Technology include exploring chemical, biophysical, magnetic and photo physical properties, which are unique to specific nanoparticulates, toward the design and development of sophisticated diagnostic and therapeutic agents.
  • India successfully test-fired which ballistic missile from Wheeler Island - Agni III 


    India successfully test fired Surface-to-Surface Agni III ballistic missile from the Wheelar Isalnd off the Odisha coast in the Bay of Bengal. This missile has a range of 3000 km's.

    SFC (Strategic Force Command) carried out this test with the support of DRDO (Defence Research and Development Organisation).
    It is equipped with the hybrid navigation, guidance and control systems along with advanced on-board computer and was inducted in armed forces in June 2011.
  • Who was appointed as Ambassador of India to France - Dr. Mohan Kumar

  • Which noted Indian Cricketer elected as member of Laureus Sports Academy - Sachin Tendulkar